For information on BPW Legislation endorsements, contact our Public Policy Chair:
Linda J. Lucas

CFBPW Public Policy Statement 2016-2018

Legislative history

Bill Screenings 2017

Results of bill screened that CFBPW supports:  This is a good opportunity to send a post card to bill’s author, your legislators if they voted for it, and to the Governor.

Report:             Status of Legislation Reviewed by the Screening Committee on 02.25.17 and now before the Governor to sign or veto by 10.15.17.

AB260             Human Trafficking – Posted Notice    Author: Santiago          CFBPW:  Support

Approved by Governor and Chaptered by the Secretary of State on 100717 Chapter 547, Statutes of 2017

SB169              Discrimination: Federal Title IX           Author: Jackson/De Leon         CFBPW:  Support

Vetoed by the Governor on 101517. Sent back to Senate for Reconsideration.

Report:             Status of Legislation Reviewed by the Screening Committee by 09.07.17 and now before the Governor to sign or veto by 10.15.17.

AB41               DNA Evidence – Tracking                   Author: Chiu                CFBPW:  Support

SB12                Foster Youth – Financial Aid               Author:  Beall              CFBPW:  Support

AB23               Education – Single Gender Academies   Author:  Ridley-Thomas  CFBPW:  Watch

Approved by Governor and Chaptered by the Secretary of State on 10/11/17 Chapter 654, Statutes of 2017

Results of bills screened by Public Policy Committee Feb. 21 2016

Bills screened 2015

For information on Status of Bills see https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/





At May 19th-20th CFBPW Annual Conference I gave an update on the Equal Rights Amendment now that Nevada has ratified it and what CFBPW members can do to finally get it ratified. Remember the Equal Rights Amendment is number one on our Public Policy Statement.

We need to remove the deadline for ratification of ERA in Congress. HJ Res. 53 Speier (CA-D) and SJ Res.5 Cardin (MD-D) would do that. HJ Res 53 has 163 co-sponsors (all Democrats). This is an increase of 18 since Nevada ratified the ERA. More co-sponsors would help to get the bill passed. The Democrats support ERA in their platform. The Republicans do not support the ERA and have not since Ronald Reagan was President. Just because your Congressmember is Republican does not mean that you should not contact him or her to co-sponsor the ERA. Those with no indication of party are Republicans. It would be great to have some Republican co-sponsors. Following are the California Congressmembers, who are not a co-sponsor of the bill. If you live in the following California Districts, contact your Congressmember  to co-sponsor  this bill to extend the deadline to ratify the ERA – 1st District Doug LaMalfa; 4th District Tom McClintock; 7th District Ami Bera (who is a Democrat); 8th District Paul Cook; 10th District Jeff Denham; 12th District Nancy Peloski (who is a Democrat); 16th District Jim Costa (who is a Democrat); 19th District Zoe Lofgren (who is a Democrat); 20th District Jimmy Panetta (who is a Democrat); 21st District David Valadao; 22nd District David Nunes; 23rd District Kevin McCarthy; 25th District Steve Knight; 31st District Pete Aguilar (who is a Democrat); 34th District Jimmy Gomez (who is a Democrat); 37th District Karen Bass (who is a Democrat); 39th District Ed Royce; 42nd District Ken Calvert; 43rd District Maxine Waters (who is a Democrat); 45th District Mimi Walters; 46th District Luis Correa (who is a Democrat); 48th District Dana Rohrabacher; 49th District  Darrell Issa; 50th District Duncan Hunter. This bill is in the House Judiciary Subcommittee on Constitution and Civil Justice.

The comparable Senate Bill SJ Res 5 has 34 co-sponsors (one Independent and the rest are Democrats).  Both California Senators are co-sponsors. This bill is in the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Let’s work on ratifying the ERA before 2020 when the NFBPWC is hosting the BPW International Congress in Orlando, Florida. This is Liz Benham, our National President’s goal.